Cupcake Red Velvet

 I’ve heard over and over from various encounters in The Store that this was one I simply must try. But, alas, it is normally priced at $11.99 per 750, so that precluded me doing so, since I’m a cheapskate. But for a brief period, now, it is on sale for $8.99, at the local booze emporium, so Wife snagged a bottle last trip there.

Cupcake, as we’ve previously discussed, is part of the eclectic Underdog Wine and Spirits collection, based in bay area California. But the interesting thing with Cupcake is their wines are sourced from areas of the world known for a particular varietal. Their Sauvignon Blanc is from Marlborough, New Zealand, their Malbec from Mendoza, Argentina, their Pinot Grigio from Italy’s Trentino appellation. This one, though is all Californian.

Red Velvet is a blend. Mostly Zinfandel, but has a decreasing percentage, respectively, of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Petite Sirah. It’s really a reflection of the craftiness and skill of the winemaker. To achieve a wine that befits the name, Red Velvet, there is a great deal of fermenting, oaking, and manipulating techniques at play here.

And achieve they did. This wine is lush, rich, smooth, and chocolatey. The first smell/sip association was Cherry Cordials. It has an almost thick mouth feel. It’s quite good. Wife said, “New favorite.”

Very shortly, the Cupcake wines will be back to $11.99, and will not be a part of our rotation. But, like my comment on their Malbec, I can find an adequate substitute for less. The recently tried, and loved, Rene Barbier Mediterranean Red comes very close to this Cupcake, and is about half the price. It is not as lush or rich, but tastes similar and is, in my humble opinion, equally enjoyable. But if you’re OK at $12ish, the Cupcake Red Velvet deserves a taste.

This entry was posted in Blends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cupcake Red Velvet

  1. I’ll probably like this. I like wines on the sweet side. And the name is so cute!

  2. Tinkerbelle says:

    thats quite cheap comapred to what they would charge us in the UK!

  3. midaevalmaiden says:

    I think I wouldnt be able resist buying a bottle of that even at $12. The name alone deserves a taste. Red velvet is my 2nd favorite cake. 🙂

  4. Cathy Buckwalter says:

    Red Velvet is fantastic and at$12 is the top of the line price…I can get Red Velvet (and I did today) for $8.49 per bottle…I bought 6 and my liquor store (and very good one here in Loudonville, NY) gives a discount for 6 or more bottles…12 bottles would be 15% discount, etc. etc. Also, Cupcake Vineyards makes other great wines, both red and white. Try them all.

  5. Levi says:

    It is good, chocolate cherry is right! Also check a certain big store offering a buy 1 get one for 5 cents. Just scored two bottles for 12$. At 6$ a 750ml this stuff is excellent any time red.

  6. Pat says:

    I’m not a red wine drinker but had a taste of the Red Velvet at one of our grocery store “wine tastings.” I liked it. A lot. I will definitely buy again.

Leave a Reply

