Apothic Red Winemakers Blend

What’s atop your to-do list at the moment? Finish taxes? Get the lawn mower up and running? Change the cat litter? Well, whatever your current priorities, bump them all down a notch and insert at the top of the list- “Go to wine store…buy Apothic Red….insert nose deep into a glass of same…roll your eyes back in pleasure…sip…repeat eye roll…sip some more.” I’m here to assert that if you haven’t yet tried this your life is incomplete. And you will love it.

We have previously noted the currently raging hot category of Red Blends, and looked at category members Cupcake Red Velvet and Menage A Trois. Apothic Red is another, and one of the early players. Blends, of course, are not new. Bordeauxs are often blends, and selections labeled Meritage, a specifically defined blend, have been around forever. But the hot, new entries are California style, meaning they combine Cabernet and/or Merlot with Zinfandels and Syrahs.

Apothic Red, one of E&J Gallo’s many, many labels, blends those four mentioned grapes. The result is rich, dark, cherry, hint of chocolate, luciousness. The “whole”, as they say, is greater than the sum of the parts. This is way good.

Like those other previously sampled blends, Apothic Red flirts with the edge of the Cheapskate price range. In fact, where I shop it is normally $12, making it a rule breaker. But it is often a sale item, and was $9 (750ml) when I bought this bottle, and I found a $2 coupon! I love when that happens!

This is one of my all-time favorites. I will wait longingly for it’s turn to be on sale again to come back around. If I wasn’t such a Cheapskate it could be our new house wine. But I am, so it can’t.

This entry was posted in Blends, FAVES and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Apothic Red Winemakers Blend

  1. Believe it or not this is atop my to do list. Not a E & J fan but keep hearing good things about this one in particular from different friends. Thanks for the reminder and nicely written review.
    Regards,
    Ernest

  2. Levi says:

    Move this site, love this wine. I’ve grabbed this a couple time when its on sale too, very nice.

  3. Levi says:

    Mr j just j, I love all your malbec reviews and is like to send you one that fits your criteria. It’s a personal face and even at full price its 7.99$ I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. I live in AZ where it is legal and easy to ship wine but i don’t know if you can receive cause some states are funny like that. I know you must remain anonymous do you have a pop box by any chance?

  4. Levi says:

    Sorry for the typos I’m Writing from my phone.

  5. Susan Newton says:

    Just tried this wine this week for the first time. I don’t normally drink reds as they tend to give me migraines. Not this one! I loved the complex flavors and depth of this inexpensive little gem. It was $9.99 at our Hy-Vee in Lee’s Summit, Mo, and I will be drinking it regularly from now one. Thanks, E&J!!

  6. Wow, looks like I should give it a try after all…

  7. homersmrt says:

    Had this for the first time a few nights ago and was very impressesed… the taste is smooth and complex. The fact it’s a Gallo wine shocked me. Soooo glad I tried it!

  8. jewls says:

    Apothic red…yummmm! Is my all time favorite…I always come back to this wine…. Cant say enough about it…but…i love you..lol
    Cheers

  9. R. J. Cordell says:

    I had this wine the other night and I think I may have found my new house wine. I liked everything about it except the price. I live in Ontario Canada and wine is sold through Government stores called LCBO’s up here.

    The price is $15.95 but that is what you have to spend to get quality wine on this side of the border.

    • J, just J. says:

      I guess it’s all relative…where I live people always bi@#* that wine costs less elsewhere as well…I guess that’s why I’m a blatant oppurtunist with clearance, special buys, coupons, etc.

  10. I agree, it’s a great wine. One of those cocktail party wines that is a fast sipper. What would you pair it with, though?

  11. Herb says:

    Had it for the first time Thanksgiving was impressed, The wife will not drink red wine,
    Can’t wait to try the white

  12. vbarton24 says:

    I had it tonight. was so lovely. red wines normally give me bad headaches but this was lovely. got it fot 7.94 at Winco

  13. bfollette says:

    I’ll have to get a bottle. I’m sucha cheapskate that I make my own wine, can do here in CA for under $5 a bottle, so very carefull on purchasing.

  14. Darlena says:

    Had a bottle yesterday for Valentine’s Day. LOVE IT! My new favorite….

  15. soostendorp says:

    My son and I are both red wine lovers, and when one or the other of us buys our weekly ration of Apothic Red, it is a very enjoyable time spent together…it is our favorite blend by far, and since it doesn’t seem that we would find anything that could top it, we will be customers for a long time. I have suggested (raved about) it to all my friends. No headaches come from it either, and we both suffer from headaches. Meijer stores have had it on sale for $9.99 (reg. $12). Thanks for blogging about it!

  16. Red Rover says:

    I would drink this wine if I had no other choice; it’s not bad, but it is too sweet for my taste. I generally don’t like ‘sweet’ and ‘red’ in the same bottle. For a nice choice that is not as sweet, try Garnacha de Fuego from Bodegas Breca (Spain). $8 at Cost Plus/World Market.

  17. Getting married next month and on every table there will be a bottle of “Apothic Red” We bought every bottle that was on the shelf. It’s good for just winding down at the end of a tough day at work and really great with a 16oz Porterhouse steak. Love it!!!!! Thanks guys!

  18. Katrina says:

    I love this site too. I like Apothic and have tried Cupcake Red Velvet and the Manage blend. I like Apothic the most. I guess I just like my wine thicker, and I find Cupcake to be on the thin side despite all the assertions that it is creamy and plush (whatever plush means). I also can’t get over Cupcake’s alcohol scent and after taste even after I let it breathe. Since I like Apothic so much, any suggestions on other bottles I can try?

  19. J-P says:

    I first discovered Apothic red blend in 2008 or so, liked it, have been buying it for $8 ± at Sam’s Costco, and elsewhere. Its sugar content changes from year to year. To my mind and palate, the less sugar, the better. The 2012 that I tried today for the first time is very pleasant

Leave a Reply

